In my comments to James in a previous post I said that blogging was easier when I had a gimmick.  I was a conservative who hated Bush and opposed the Iraq war.  If not unique, I was certainly a rarity.

Nowadays, everyone hates Bush and the majority of Americans want us out of Iraq yesterday.

I’ve lost my niche…

Consider:

  • When I started blogging in 2003, George Bush was at the height of his popularity and the nation was gripped by war fever. As noted above, I was a Reagan Republican who hated Bush and viscerally opposed the Iraq war. In 2007, a majority of Americans want Bush impeached and even greater numbers want American troops out of Iraq. (BTW, I’ve long since left the GOP)
  • In 2003, I was a member of the ever cursed, star-crossed, misbegotten band of brothers known as Red Sox fans.  We were in our 85th year of misery.  In 2007, the Red Sox have a World Championship under their belts and they (currently) have the best record in Major League Baseball.  (With a double digit lead over the MFY in the AL East)
  • In the 1990s I developed a fascination with the Traditional Latin Mass.  I would travel innumerable miles to assist at a High Mass in the old rite.  (At the time, they were as rare as the proverbial hens’ teeth) By the time I started blogging in 2003 my fascination was intermittent but I’d still make the long journey whenever the Spirit moved me.  Now, in 2007, Pope Benedict has thrown wide the gates and by virtue of his recent Motu Proprio “Summorum Pontificum” [.pdf], the Traditional Latin Mass may, by right and not by exception, be offered freely.

I have no purpose. I have no niche…

What the hell am I going to complain about?

